Monday, June 12, 2017

2017 College Football Hall Of Fame Voting

I voted for the first time last year. Looks like only one player and one coach I voted for made it in the class.

I'll use the same criteria this year:

  1. Did they play for Michigan
  2. Have I seen them play in person and the level of success they had against Michigan
  3. Under recognized player I saw enough on TV or heard enough about to earn my vote
  4. "Star" who is likely to get enough votes from others
Criteria 1 yields 3 deserving Wolverines.
Jumbo Elliot - dominant offensive lineman that helped return M to a OL factory
Rick Leach - The Peach - The Guts and Glue of the Maize and Blue
Charles Woodson - Heisman Trophy winner

For the second criteria - there are 16 players I saw play in person on the ballot, so once again I won't have to go past this criteria:
  1. Tyrell Buckley - Great battle with Desmond Howard in 1991
  2. Keith Byars - Injured much of 1985, but played against M
  3. Mark Carrier - Don't remember him from the 1989 Rose Bowl
  4. Kerry Collins - Losing QB in M's first trip to Happy Valley in 1993 - I missed the 1994 game in Ann Arbor
  5. Robert Gallery - I always felt he was overrated at Iowa
  6. Moe Gardner - Stout D lineman from Illinois - I swear jiMpossible called him out on the sideline but he claims not to remember
  7. Dana Howard -Illini linebacker who I saw tie and beat M
  8. Raghib Ismail - shouldn't have kicked to him once, let alone twice
  9. Anthony Poindexter may have played in the Kickoff Classic in 1995
  10. Antwaan Randle El - Had a last second heave to defeat M in 1999 in Bloomington fall incomplete
  11. Simeon Rice - same as Dana Howard above
  12. Taylor Stubblefield - Purdue receiver did not have much success vs. M
  13. Aaron Taylor - DL from Notre Dame - lost to Desmond Howard in '91 and beat M in '93
  14. Troy Vincent - Wisconsin DB - M had no trouble with his Badgers
  15. Michael Westbrook - 1994 Colorado...
  16. Lorenzo White - 1987 at MSU
Easy votes are Buckley, Ismail, Randle El, Westbrook and White. That brings me to 8 votes - so 4 more to go.
I'll go with Byars for his 1984 season, Kerry Collins for his 1994 season, Moe Gardner and Taylor Stubblefield.

For coaches there are 2 options that I saw coach against M, so they get my vote. Frank Beamer - truly deserving even though his team lost to M, and Mack Brown - probably less deserving, but he did ride Vince Young to a Rose Bowl victory over Michigan.

Tuesday, January 10, 2017

New Year - New Trophy Holder - Clemson wins!

Clemson pulled out a thrilling 35-31 victory over Alabama in last nights CFP- Championship game in Tampa.
Of course the most important thing the Tigers bring back to South Carolina is the jiMpossible-sarcasMike trophy.

This is the 5th time the Tigers have held the trophy.

  • They beat Duke back in 1974 before dropping their next game to Tennessee. 
  • The Tigers had a longer run the second time, taking the trophy in the 1988 Citrus Bowl over Penn State and followed with two wins to start the 1988 season before falling to Florida State. 
  • Clemson had a trophy drought until 2011. They took it from Auburn in September and won 5 more before a loss to Georgia Tech. The won it back in the ACC Championship over Virginia Tech before getting blasted by West Virginia in the Orange Bowl.
  • Clemson has also lost as trophy challengers in 1942, 1954, 1959, 1967, 1971 1999 and 2010. 
  • This leaves their trophy game record at 12-11.
It looks like Clemson's 2017 schedule is not finalized, but they do open with Kent St and Auburn at home. They also host the Citadel and travel to arch rival, South Carolina in addition to whatever their conference schedule will be.