Tuesday, January 10, 2017

New Year - New Trophy Holder - Clemson wins!

Clemson pulled out a thrilling 35-31 victory over Alabama in last nights CFP- Championship game in Tampa.
Of course the most important thing the Tigers bring back to South Carolina is the jiMpossible-sarcasMike trophy.

This is the 5th time the Tigers have held the trophy.

  • They beat Duke back in 1974 before dropping their next game to Tennessee. 
  • The Tigers had a longer run the second time, taking the trophy in the 1988 Citrus Bowl over Penn State and followed with two wins to start the 1988 season before falling to Florida State. 
  • Clemson had a trophy drought until 2011. They took it from Auburn in September and won 5 more before a loss to Georgia Tech. The won it back in the ACC Championship over Virginia Tech before getting blasted by West Virginia in the Orange Bowl.
  • Clemson has also lost as trophy challengers in 1942, 1954, 1959, 1967, 1971 1999 and 2010. 
  • This leaves their trophy game record at 12-11.
It looks like Clemson's 2017 schedule is not finalized, but they do open with Kent St and Auburn at home. They also host the Citadel and travel to arch rival, South Carolina in addition to whatever their conference schedule will be.

No comments:

Post a Comment