Tuesday, September 9, 2014

Big Game Bob keeps the trophy in Norman

Oklahoma dominated in-state-rival Tulsa 52-7 last Saturday to keep possessions of the jiMpossible-SarcasMike Trophy. The Sooners will likely face a tougher test this week as they host Tennessee.

The Volunteers have had quite a history with the Trophy. They first won it from Auburn in 1938 - they then rattled off 17 wins (only allowing 6 points in the process). That took them to the 1940 Rose Bowl - where they lost to Southern Cal. Included in that run is a win over Oklahoma in the 1939 Orange Bowl.

There next trophy win was in the 1955 finale over Vanderbilt. The ripped off 10 straight wins in 1956 before falling to Baylor in the 1957 Sugar Bowl.

They've also held the trophy for 3 weeks in 1957, one week in 1959, one in 1966, 3 in 1967 and most recently a 7 game run in 1974-75 that I swear ended in a game I remember seeing on TV against UCLA.

Additional losses in to trophy holders:
Alabama in 1942, 1964, 1977, 1986
Ole Miss in 1960, 1962, 1963
USC 1980
UCLA 1985
Nebraska 1998 (could have secured full MNC for Michigan)
Miami 2002
Florida 2007, 2009

I think the trophy will stay with Oklahoma for another week.

No comments:

Post a Comment