Monday, November 19, 2012

Trophy heads to Waco

For the first time since 1991 the Baylor Bears are holders of the jiMpossible-sarcasMike Trophy. The Bears not only dashed the MNC hopes of the Wildcats, they also took the trophy 52-24.

Baylor is 10-10 all-time in trophy games. This is their 4th time holding the trophy.  In the 1957 Sugar Bowl, they knocked off Tennessee. They opened the 1957 season with 2 victories before falling to Miami on 10/5/1957.

Their trophy drought had reached 34 years before taking the trophy from Colorado on 9/14/1991. They rattled off 3 more wins before losing to Rice. Rice subsequently lost to TCU and the Bears re-took the trophy the next week from the Horned Frogs. They won again the the next week before a late season loss to Texas Tech sent the trophy away.

They had 4 chances to win the trophy in the intervening 21 years. They lost in 1997 to Nebraska, 1998 to Texas A&M, 2008 to Oklahoma State and earlier this season to West Virginia.

The remaining schedule for Baylor is next week hosting Texas Tech and they close the season hosting Oklahoma State. Not much has made sense in the Big Twelve this season, so there is still a lot of drama to come. That remaining schedule does guarantee a bowl visit for the Trophy as Baylor's opponents are already eligible and Baylor will be if they win out.

No comments:

Post a Comment