Monday, November 9, 2015

Cowboys break Frogs hold on Trophy

Coming into Saturday, TCU had successfully defended the jiMpossible-sarcasMike trophy 13 times since taking it from WVU last October. Oklahoma State ended that run 49-29, sending the Horned Frogs home, but keeping the trophy in Stillwater.

Original photo from Oklahoma State Football Flickr page

Trophy Notes
  • TCU's streak was the longest since USC defended 25 times after beating Michigan in the 2004 Rose Bowl.
  • Oklahoma State's remaining schedule is at Iowa State then at home against Baylor and Oklahoma.
  • Iowa State has never won the trophy. They are 0-3 all-time with an average game score of 60-10.
  • The Cowboys last held the trophy in November 2013. The took the trophy from Baylor before losing the next week to Oklahoma.
  • Oklahoma State is 4-9 all-time in trophy games, 1-2 as the trophy holder.
  • Their only successful defense was a 34-6 victory over Baylor in 2008.
  • The Big 12 has held the trophy since WVU beat Clemson in the 2012 Orange Bowl.
  • That is 49 straight games and all the possible scenarios for the final three weeks of the regular season will keep it within the conference, bringing it to at least 52 games before bowl/playoff season.

No comments:

Post a Comment